Uncategorized

Summer Tech List

Summer break is just around the corner!  I am a  list person, each summer I create a  summer reading list for myself.  I think it dates back to the summer reading programs I participated in at the local library while growing up!  My criteria is pretty flexible, though I try to include one completely mindless novel and one book that will somehow stretch my thinking professionally.  Last summer I met neither of those criteria, reading all historical fiction.  If you are looking for a couple of good ones, I recommend The Kitchen House and The Other Boleyn Girl.  I haven’t settled on anything for this summer, so if you have any recommendations, I’m looking for a few good books!

The other thing I have been inspired to do is try a new technology each summer.  I think other people do this stuff year round, but in the world of an educator, the summer seems to be the time that the world slows down a little to really engage in some personal learning. So, if you are looking to add to your lists and want to create a Summer Tech Lists, here are some things you might consider:

  • read a book on a Kindle, Nook or iPad … I enjoy sitting down with a paper book, but I have to say I enjoy reading digital books with options to change the screen background, font size and access a glossary.
  • explore Pinterest or Twitter  – You can spend hours finding ideas for projects and interests, school and personal!
  • try a new app – Waze might be a good one if you are on the road traveling and Animoto is a great way to create short videos with text, images & music.
  • Get in the Cloud – experiment with Google Drive – it is a great way to backup files and access your files from anywhere, anytime!
  • check out a new technology – Chromebooks can be signed out for the summer in the Library.
  • start a blogWordPress.com is easy to use!
  • try using a social bookmarking tool like diigo – save your bookmark to the web so they are available anytime, anyplace and can be annotated!

Book List, Tech List, No List . . . I hope you have a great summer!

Leave a comment